Te Ipukarea


Te Ipukarea - The National M?ori Language Institute was established in 2008 from funding provided by the Tertiary Education Commission's (TEC) Encouring and Supporting Innovation Fund and is hosted by AUT University.  Participating entities in Te Ipukarea include tertiary providers, community and iwi organisations. The Institute has a focus on the pursuit of excellence in scholarship, teaching and research in the M?ori language. Concurrently, it has developed and advanced a digital strategy for the creation, delivery and assessment of M?ori language curriculum and the collection and dissemination of M?ori epistemology.


Strong connections with tertiary providers, community and iwi organisations including: Te Panekiretanga o te Reo Māori, Te Wānanga o Aotearoa; Te Kawa-a-Māui and Te Herenga Waka, Victoria University of Wellington; Te Ataarangi Educational Trust; Te Puna Wānaka, Christchurch Polytechnic Institute of Technology; Aotahi: School of Māori and Indigenous Studies, university of Canterbury; Lincoln University, Department of Māori Studies; Eastern Institute of Technology; Tainui FM; Tapuika Iwi Authority; University of the South Pacidic, Cook Islands and the Western Institute of Technology at Taranaki.